Doom and gloom and despair; Lord have mercy what are we going to do? North and South Korea are heading toward a fight, Israel is apparently playing pirate(sarcasm inserted here), and the little Hitler over in Iran and the rest of the muslim world are rattling their sabers again. Now the biggest part of despair: the oil spill.(I forgot about Al and Tipper Gore seperating, sorry about that.)
We are well over a month into this oil spill disaster and we need "all hands on deck" to help get this thing stopped and the clean up managed. What does our dictator-in-chief send to Louisiana? Lawyers! What in the world good is it going to do to press criminal charges at this point? Surely BP knows by now that they screwed up BIG TIME and are doing everything they can to fix the problem. Right in the middle of all this mess when we need everyone concerned to be working on solutions to this disaster and BO is sending in the blood sucking lawyers? What good is this action going to do and what assistance could these lawyers possibly provide to help speed up the process? Sending these lawyers down to start the litigation process now is akin to fighting fire with a tanker truck full of gas! All these lawyers are going to do is slow things down and they are not needed right now! Indeed, when are they ever really needed? The only people who are going to gain anything positive from this disaster, as usual, are the attorneys! Whatever group of attorneys that get picked to litigate this mess are going to be able to retire to whatever little island they want to buy, and the folks living on the coast and anyone who buys gasoline is going to get "hosed" in the process.
I'm all for "crucifying" any of the jokers that may have screwed up. I think once this mess is cleaned up or at least managed, then we can start looking for hides to nail to the wall. But, what if this was just something that happens? What if nobody screwed up and this was all an accident that nobody could have prevented? I know the environmentalist wacko's out there didn't want any drilling in the ocean to begin with, and believe me, they will be like roaches(accurate description) coming out of the woodwork as this crisis lingers on. However, the world needs the oil and not drilling at this point is not an option. I'm just curious to see what changes our seemingly dim-witted leadership is going to impose on us now, now that a foreign company has ruined our ocean.
I'm wondering why it is that American companies, regulated by American standards, are not the only ones out in the Gulf drilling for oil? We've been hearing for years that our oil supplies are dwindling and that we are going to run out of it pretty soon, but we see that's a big lie now. I guess folks just don't want to have to pay attention to what their politicians are doing until some disaster is upon them. I'm not bashing big business, they provide many of us with employment, but at some point we have to see what collusion goes on between our politicians and the big businesses that fund them. I believe, with all my heart, that our politicians have sold us out to the big oil companies and the dollars they funnel to them. Yes, I know that big oil has to make a profit, but not like they are doing it now. Don't lie to me and everyone else and tell me that you haven't made much profit over the last one hundred years. I've not noticed any poor oilmen out there, and they have to be extravagantly wealthy now that they've bilked the world out of it's treasure. There is hardly another business in the world that can get away with gouging it's customers they way the Exxon's of the world can. These giant oil companies have us all by the throat and there is not a thing we can do about it other than to play along.
I do not want the government to take over the oil industry, gas would be twenty dollars a gallon, and electricty rates would soar to enable us to pay for all the social programs the liberals force down our throats. At some point though, the government has to follow through with our laws concerning collusion and monopolies. There is a reason our government made laws to curb these two things, and there is nothing about the way "big oil" does business that is fair. There has got to be some balance here and I don't pretend to know enough about it to say what that balance might be. I have some opinions and they are probably just as good as anyone elses concerning this matter. We all know that this is just about the only business in the world where everyone has to buy it's products. I don't guess we have to buy their stuff but the lifestyle change would be very dramatic and we'd lose half our population for various reasons. ( you fill in the blank here) I'd sure hate to have to ride a horse all the way to town everyday and I do enjoy the comforts electricity affords me!
Having said all this I would like to add a little disclaimer. Thank goodness there is a God and He will eventually take care of all this. It may not be something we want or anything we will necessarily like, but the Lord will take care of us just like He always has. If you don't believe there is a God then I am sorry for you because you have no hope and nothing to sustain you through the dark times that are surely coming. You and I are going to be keeping our appointment with God and we need to remember that appointment before we let the cares of the world consume us. Yes, I yell, or in this case, type really hard about the state of our state, but I know that my Redeemer lives and that He will redeem me when my life is over. Until that time, I will keep on typing and griping hoping I can can reach one little pointy headed liberal at a time! Gosh, the progressives/socialist/democrats/communist amongst us surely need someone such as myself to turn the lights on for them.
No comments:
Post a Comment